Miniature Apple Pies

Since the chill of autumn has finally arrived and it appears that our Indian summer has ended, it felt like the perfect time to make some good ol’ apple pie. When researching recipes I found a rather enticing one from Smitten Kitchen for “apple pie cookies” which are essentially little pies.

They are adorable, delicious, and surprisingly easy and were well loved by all who tried them 🙂 I snapped a few quick photos of the finished product, mine are a bit more “rustic” than Smitten Kitchen’s perfect pies so bear with me.
I’ve also attached my adapted version of the recipe below.

PS: The pie dough recipe from SK is fool proof, even for pie novices like myself. Mine turned out perfect and flaky.

Crust
2 1/2 cups (313 grams) all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting surfaces, dipping fork
2 tablespoons (25 grams) granulated sugar (doubled from my standard pie dough to make this more cookie-like)
1 teaspoon (4 grams) table salt
2 sticks (225 grams, 8 ounces, 16 tablespoons or 1 cup) unsalted butter, very cold
1/2 cup (118 ml) water, very cold (I pour 1 cup and add ice while I work, then measure 1/2 cup from it when I need it)

Filling
3 medium apples,

*I used Honey Crisp which may be specific to the Midwest as they are a hybrid developed here in Minnesota. they are my absolute favorite apple, perfect balance between sweet and tart.

Squeeze of lemon juice (optional)
1/3 cup (67 grams) granulated sugar
1 teaspoon (2 grams) ground cinnamon
A pinch of clove
A pinch of allspice

Scrapings of 1/2 a vanilla bean
Few gratings fresh nutmeg

To finish
1 large egg
Coarse or granulated sugar for garnish

Additional stuff
A couple baking sheets covered with parchment paper
Rolling pin, pastry brush (for egg wash), fork (for crimping and dipping) and sharp knife (to make slits)
Two round cookie cutters of different sizes. I used 2 1/2-inch and 1 1/2 to 1 3/4-inch rounds. You’ll want to make sure there’s at least a 3/4-inch different in the sizes, as you’ll need the extra margin to crimp your dough.

Full instructions of Smitten Kitchen

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

