London Fashion Week Favorites

Usually, most of the London shows are a bit of a bust for me (compared to Paris and Milan). But this year I have found myself enamored by several collections from London. I went through each and every collections and picked out my favorite looks, here they are:

Emilio de la Morena

The red dresses that Emilio de la Morena showed this season stopped me dead in my tracks. How could someone that has never met me before make something that I desired so dearly? Emilio, if you are reading this… I will wear your red dresses and wear them well. I love the cage construction and retro shape, these dresses are pretty close to perfection, IMHO.

Erdem

Erdem’s garments are just so beautiful. The model on the other hand I am having MAJOR issues with. That girl is far to corpse-like to be on a runway. I have no problem with ‘thin’ models but you can tell by how sunken in her facial features are that this weight is not healthy on her frame. Back to the clothes, the first dress is just so lovely and sweet. I would wear this to a dinner party in a heartbeat. I love the painterly quality of the second dress, it is perfect for the red carpet.

Mark Fast

Mark Fast’s fall collection was similar to most of his other collections, lots of sexy knit LBDs etc. These two pieces, however, really stood out to me. I want to bundle up on the first look immediately, it looks perfect for a chilly Minnesota winter. The second look is extremely unique, the fact that he can achieve that wonderful light puffiness with knit wear is amazing to me.

Giles

Giles Deacon delivered my very favorite collection thus far. These pieces literally made me want to scream out in joy. Beautiful construction, much needed drama (the other collections have been lacking in the drama department), perfect black and white palette, 60’s silhouettes, perfect styling (love the bows). I AM IN LOVE. I want to own each and every one of these extraordinary looks.

Julien Macdonald

Julien Macdonald was another favorite of mine this season. The combination of diaphanous dresses paired with tough lace-up boots (which seems to be a theme this year: see Altuzarra) and chunky furs just slays me everytime. This collection looks supremely 70s yet modern which I love.

Mary Katrantzou

Mary Katrantzou’s collection was beautiful and without a doubt unique. The oriental prints are breathtaking and the shape and construction looks flawless. I could see Anna Dello Russo in these looks.

Burberry Prorsum

Burberry was not my favorite this season (a little dull), I do however think that this coat is to die for.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “London Fashion Week Favorites

  1. Pingback: Milan Fashion Week Favorites | Couture et Cuisine

Leave a Reply

