Winter Beauty Survival Guide

I am in the midst of yet another bone-chilling Minnesota winter. Arctic temperatures and bitter winds can easily translate into parched skin, a dull complexion and stressed out and static-y strands. As a self proclaimed skin care addict (who has survived many frigid winters) I am here to offer up some advice for the next few chilly months. Here’s what has worked for me:

Arcona Peptide Hydrating Complex, $75

I am the hugest advocate for Arcona products, I cannot sing their praises enough. All of Arcona’s products are free chemicals, fillers, parabens, and all of those other nasty unnatural ingredients that should not go on one’s skin. The peptide hydrating complex is your best friend; it contains two skin remodeling peptide groups and strengthening flavinoids to hydrate without clogging up your pores. Also this is neither a greasy moisturizer nor a heavy one, it absorbs quickly but still gets the job done.

RODIN Olio Lusso Body Oil, $92

To avoid dryness in the winter, oils for me are essential. RODIN‘s Olio Lusso body oil is eleven nourishing and aromatic essential oils (Jojaba, Evening Primrose, Calendula, Jasmine, Sweet Almond, etc). Olio Lusso smells divine and feels even better. Drop a little bit in a hot bath and you will likely forget that the temperatures outside have dropped below zero.

Philip B. Katira Hair Masque, $40

Philip B. is one of my very favorite products lines, I have found them to do wonders on my mane (esp. since having Great Lengths extensions). My favorite of which is the Katira hair mask. The mask is made up of pure Katira extract which has been called the “it” conditioner of the Middle East. The mask is oil free and adds amazing light, bouncy body to limp, lifeless winter hair.

Arcona Wine Hydrating Mask, $38

I hate to admit that I was kind of sold by this line, “A glass of wine a day keeps you sane and so will the therapeutic Arcona Wine Hydrating Mask every week!” But it definitely rings true. Since begining to use the hydating mask in October, I noticed that my skin has been completely free of flakiness, much more supple, and smooth. It feels like a drink of water for the skin. After taking off the mask my skin always feels refreshingly dewy and completely replenished.

fresh Sugar Lip Polish, $23

Exfoliating the lips is an absolutely essential step in the winter. Fresh lip polish gently sloughs off flakes and turns chapped winter lips into smooth kissable ones. The blend of meadowfoam seed oil, jojoba seed oil, grapeseed oil, and shea butter leaves lasting moisture.

Arcona Raspberry Resurfacing Peel, $68

By now you are probably sick of me spouting off about my love for Arcona… I am just a firm believer in their products. The raspberry resurfacing peel has without a doubt brightened up my complexion in these colder months. I use it 1-2 times weekly. My pores have shrunk to minimal proportions, the tone and texture instantaneously improve after use (IMO). The exfoliating process of the peel does tingle a bit but after prolonged use it begins to go away.

Benefit Benetint, $28

I have used Benetint since junior high and it has never failed me. I especially love it’s super pigmented rosey stain for winter. When a powder blush feels too drying and lipstick feels too daunting, I blend Benetint into my cheeks and onto my lips for a healthy flush.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Winter Beauty Survival Guide

  1. Pingback: Inside of my Beauty Arsenal | Couture et Cuisine

Leave a Reply

