Taix French Country Cuisine – Los Angeles, California

After driving, yes driving, from Minneapolis to Los Angeles I wanted a real meal. I wanted to go somewhere with cloth napkins, I wanted to eat meat that wasn’t ground, and I wanted to enjoy myself. I stumbled upon Taix in Echo Park while looking for quality French country cuisine without spending a small fourtune.

We arrived at Taix around 7pm on a Saturday, the dining room was full and I was so famished that we decided to post up in the lounge. The menu was thrilling to me after days of “roadside” meals. I decided on the mussels cooked with leeks, butter, cream, white wine, and shallots paired with pomme frites and chose the Cote de Veau (veal chop with shallot sauce) as my entree.

The mussels were to die for, as a usual non-seafood kind of girl I was shocked that I could not stop eating them (normally I have a couple, then retire), the sauce was basic but absolutely divine with a perfect balance of salty and creamy. The veal was excellent; tender, cooked to perfection, and covered in the most beautiful shallot sauce.

Overall this is straightforward, unfussy, French country cuisine. I would highly recommend a trip to Taix.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Taix French Country Cuisine – Los Angeles, California

  1. Thanks for the post. I do enjoy the manner in which you have framed this specific situation. I would love to share your blog with my friends on facebook, how do I do that?

Leave a Reply

