Personal Favorite – Gemma, New York City

Not a whole lot beats a meal at Gemma for me. Every time that I am in Manhattan I head straight to Gemma at the Bowery Hotel (usually more than once). It’s rustic, completely comfortable, yet luxurious and their menu is superb. I could pretty much blindly point at anything on Gemma’s menu and be happy and satisfied.

Among my favorite dishes are; the truffled polenta fries, buffallo ricotta crostini, the watercress salad, the rigitoni with proscuitto cotto + peas & cream, costoletta di vitello. And for dessert: absolutely the crostada di mele (rustic apple tart with olive oil gelato). To drink? I prefer Lillet Blanc with a splash of prosecco or champagne. My pick for brunch? The eggs a la Gemma are perfection: poached eggs on fluffy broiche with proscuitto cotto, hollandaise, and asparagus.

If you are in New York, walk don’t run to Gemma.

 

ph. Maison de Reveries

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Personal Favorite – Gemma, New York City

  1. Pingback: Square One Dining (or The Second Best French Toast I’ve Ever Had) | Couture et Cuisine

Leave a Reply

